Data verified with source and date
Guides

How many days can you go without trading?

It's the most boring rule in the contract and one of the biggest account-killers, because you don't break it by trading badly — you break it by doing nothing. A holiday, an injury, two weeks of a market you don't like, and you come back to a closed account.

The number of days barely matters. What decides everything is what counts as "activity", and there firms split into two worlds: at some, logging into the platform is enough; at others you need a closed trade; and at the strictest you need a profitable day. Thirty days on a login clock and thirty days on a trade clock are opposite rules written with the same number.

The punishment isn't uniform either. At some firms the account is suspended and can be recovered; at others it's closed outright, with the evaluation you paid for inside it. Worth knowing which one you signed before you go on holiday.

Data verified through 2026-09-25

Does the rule exist at all?

20 firms counted
Yes, there is one18 · 90%
None1 · 5%
Not stated1 · 5%

"Not stated" is not the same as "they don't have one". If it isn't in the terms, don't assume you can vanish for three months: ask in writing and keep the answer.

What resets the clock?

20 firms counted
Just logging in2 · 10%
Opening a trade11 · 55%
A full round trip3 · 15%
A traded day1 · 5%
A profitable day1 · 5%
Not stated2 · 10%

This is the field that matters, and it runs from easiest to hardest: logging in, opening a trade, closing a full round trip, having a traded day, or outright having a profitable day. The same "30 days" means very different things depending on which one applies to you.

What happens when it runs out?

20 firms counted
Account closed12 · 60%
Suspended, recoverable1 · 5%
The evaluation expires2 · 10%
No consequence1 · 5%
Not stated4 · 20%

Suspended is recoverable; closed usually isn't. That's the difference between a scare and losing what you paid for the evaluation.

Firm by firm

What each firm says, with the link to its own page and the date we read it. If a rule changes, it changes here.

FirmVerified ruleVerifiedSource
Alpha Capital GroupPhase 1 10% ($5,000), Phase 2 5% ($2,500), minimum 3 days per phase; 10% ($5,000) max overall loss, 5% daily.2026-09-07 Source
Apex Trader Funding50K: $3,000 profit target against a $2,500 drawdown, no minimum days.2026-07-23 Source
Bulenox50K: $3,000 target against a $2,500 drawdown, no minimum days.2026-09-07 Source
E8 MarketsSingle phase: $4,500 (9%) target, no minimum days; $3,000 (6%) max drawdown, $2,000 (4%) daily.2026-07-23 Source
Earn2Trade50K: $3,000 target against a $2,000 drawdown, no minimum days.2026-09-08 Source
Elite Trader Funding50K: $3,000 target, $2,000 drawdown, 5-day minimum. On Diamond Hands, ETF's own pages disagree on the minimum: the plan page says 5 trading days, the homepage comparison strip says 10 — plan on 10 until ETF settles it.2026-07-23 Source
FTMOTwo phases: 10% ($5,000) in Phase 1 and 5% ($2,500) in Verification, minimum 4 days each; 10% ($5,000) max overall loss, 5% ($2,500) daily.2026-09-15 Source
Funded Trading Plus7% per phase ($3,500), no minimum days; static 8% ($4,000) max overall loss, 4% daily.2026-09-07 Source
FundedNextTargets by phase: 1-Step 10% (no time limit, min 2 days); 2-Step 8% Phase 1 and 5% Phase 2 (min 5 days per phase); Lite 8% and 4%; Instant no target. Stellar Lite minimum days conflict (5 vs 2 across their own pages).2026-09-14 Source
FundingPipsTwo phases: 8% ($4,000) and 5% ($2,500), minimum 3 days; 10% ($5,000) max overall loss, 5% daily.2026-09-16 Source
FXIFYPhase 1 8% ($4,000), Phase 2 5% ($2,500), minimum 4 days each; static 10% ($5,000) max overall loss. Lightning plan: FXIFY's Lightning FAQ gives 5 trading days to hit the target; its how-it-works page says 7. Plan on 5.2026-07-23 Source
Instant FundingSingle phase: 10% ($5,000), minimum 3 days; 8% ($4,000) max overall loss, 3% daily.2026-07-23 Source
Lucid Trading50K: $3,000 target, $2,000 EOD drawdown, no minimum days — the evaluation can be passed in one trading day.2026-08-17 Source
Maven Trading8% ($4,000) and 5% ($2,500), no minimum days; 8% ($4,000) max overall loss, 4% daily.2026-09-15 Source
MyFundedFutures50K Rapid and Pro: $3,000 target, 2-day minimum. Builder 50K follows a milestone path.2026-09-14 Source
Take Profit Trader50K: $3,000 target, 3-day minimum on new tests bought from Aug 17, 2026 (existing tests and resets: 5 days), within a $2,000 end-of-day trailing drawdown.2026-09-08 Source
The5ersTwo steps on the current High Stakes plan: 10% then 5% (a legacy Classic variant runs 8% then 5%), each needing a minimum of 3 profitable days, where a profitable day is closed net of at least +0.5% of the initial balance. Maximum total loss is 10% of the initial balance. The daily loss limit is disputed between The5ers' own pages at 3% and 5% — see the daily-loss section, where both positions are recorded and neither is settled. Inactivity: an account expires after 30 consecutive days without trading during evaluation, and after 60 on a funded account.2026-09-25 Source
Topstep50K: $3,000 profit target, no minimum days (can pass in 2), with a consistency rule (best day < 50% of target). Single phase.2026-09-16 Source
TradeDay50K: $3,000 target, $2,000 drawdown, 5-day minimum. Fast Pass: TradeDay's pricing cards say a 3-day minimum; its how-it-works page and rules FAQ say there is none. Plan on 3.2026-09-11 Source
Tradeify50K Growth: $3,000 target, 1-day minimum, no consistency rule in the evaluation.2026-09-14 Source

Frequent questions

Does a minimum-size trade reset the clock?

At most firms yes, which is why plenty of people leave one token trade before going on holiday. But if your firm requires a traded day or a profitable day, that trick doesn't work — and those are exactly the ones that don't advertise it on the pricing page.

Do weekends and holidays count?

It depends on whether the limit is in calendar days or trading days, and almost no firm states it clearly. In practice, assume the worse reading: if your limit is 30 days, plan as if all 30 are calendar days.

My account was closed for inactivity — can I get it back?

If the written consequence was "suspension", yes — request reactivation citing the clause. If it was closure, the route is to check the count was done the way the contract says: many disputes are won because the firm counted calendar days where its own text said trading days.

Next step